2019 Award Recipients

2019 Distinguished Service Award

Frances Kiperman

Community Emergency Response Team
Boca Raton

For cumulative outstanding contributions and generously giving your time to educate the neuromuscular community and many others on hurricane preparedness by holding seminars, trainings and meetings throughout the county.


2019 Lifetime Achievement Award

Manny Miranda
Florida Power & Light Company

For more than 30 years of outstanding substantial contributions providing industry leading expertise and technical guidance in Florida and Puerto Rico in the field of electrical power restoration.



2019 Bob Lay Emergency Management

Iñaki Rezola
Pinellas County Emergency Management

For outstanding professionalism, dedication and accomplishment in the field of Emergency Management. Your comprehensive knowledge of Human Services makes you a tremendous asset to Pinellas County and all those that you serve in the State of Florida.


2019 Al Bragg Government & Legislative Achievement Award

The Lee County Board of County Commissioners

To the Lee County Board of County Commissioners for consistently prioritizing public safety and emergency management, and empowering county staff and the citizens of Lee County to be better prepared for Hurricanes and All-Hazards.


2019 Volunteer Agency Service Award

Operation BBQ Relief
Disaster Response Team

For providing BBQ meals to displaced residents and emergency personnel during times of natural and other disasters in Florida and throughout the United States, including serving 808,220 BBQ meals over 30 days for Hurricane Michael relief followed by another 15,000 meals the following Thanksgiving.


2019 Volunteer Agency Service Award

Alison Thompson
Third Wave Volunteers


For founding Third Wave Volunteers with medical and non-medical volunteers ready to deploy in disasters and for your commitment to Volunteerism around the world, based on the concept that “EVERYONE IS NEEDED”


2019 Public/Private Achievement Award

The Florida Health Care Association

For substantial contributions made supporting Florida’s Nursing Home facilities with hurricane preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation trainings, communications, resources and regulatory guidance and for collaboration with local, state and federal partners.


2019 Dick Fletcher Media Award

Peyton LoCicero
WMBB, Channel 13

For exceptional collaboration and partnership with the Walton County Department of Emergency Management in educating the public about Hurricanes and Hurricane Preparedness.


2019 Chad Reed First Responder Award

Joby Smith
Bay County Emergency Management Division Chief

For dedication, resourcefulness and selfless leadership of the Bay County Emergency Operations Center during the county’s response to Hurricane Michael.


2019 Public Education / Public Information Award

Mark Suddath



For providing 20 plus years of innovative and valuable hurricane information for Florida residents and elsewhere as the Founder and Editor of Hurricanetrack.com.


2019 Public Education / Public Information Award

 Margaret (Peggy) McDeavitt
Okaloosa-Walton Medical Reserve Corps

For creating the Lean On Me project to ensure that residents in Okaloosa and Walton counties that are the most vulnerable in an emergency have a well-developed personal preparedness plan through individualized education.


2019 Tropical Meteorology Award

National Hurricane Center/National Weather Service
Miami, Florida

To the team assembled for developing and implementing The Time of Arrival of Tropical Storm Force Winds Graphics, a great advancement for visualizing expected impact timelines and hazard-hours from wind arrival time that enhances emergency management decision making.


2019 Innovation Award

World Central Kitchen

For the innovative strategy of cooking fresh, nutritious, “one pot” meals that require less resources to prepare but feed greater numbers of people and for utilizing mapping technology to identify areas of need and create distribution routes to ensure disaster survivors are being fed in Florida and Worldwide.


2019 Rising Star Award

Mecca Serfustini
Pinellas County Emergency Management

For outstanding dedication, contributions and accomplishments in your burgeoning career of Emergency Management while working for Pinellas County.


2019 Rising Star Award

William Bauguess
The Salvation Army

For outstanding dedication, contributions and accomplishments in your burgeoning career of Community Service while working for The Salvation Army.


2019 Special Achievement Award

Jamie Leigh Price
GHC Senior Student Ambassador

 For exceeding expectations in service and commitment to the goals of the Governor’s Hurricane Conference.